top of page
Saarburg waterfall.copyright.JPG
SAARBURG

The idyllic small town of Saarburg can be reached in a few minutes. Saarburg was founded in 964 by Count Siegfried of Luxembourg with the acquisition of Mount Churbelun and the construction of the castle high above the Saar. Saarburg is surrounded by forests and vineyards and the Leuk flows through it. A special attraction is the approx. 20m high waterfall in the middle of the city, which falls between half-timbered houses and baroque buildings and drives the mill wheels of the former Hackenberg mill. Saarburg's historic city center and the picturesque lower town invite you to explore the steep and winding streets.

Copyright: Saar-Obermosel_Touristik eV Richard Seer

In and around Saarburg

With us you can do more than just relax! Our campsite has many great activities nearby, all of which are worth a visit.

Man hiking in nature

hike

Around the campsite and in the vicinity there are numerous beautiful natural hiking trails . Enjoy the leisurely ride on the chairlift up to the Warsberg and walk through the vineyards down to the city. 5 panels provide you with interesting information about the geology, viticulture, sights and climate of the city of Saarburg. 

trier.jpg

trier

Saarburg bike path. copyr.jpg

bike rides

Saarburg offers numerous opportunities for everyone who likes to be active on holiday. Bike or MTB tours are ideal for experiencing the landscape around Saarburg. A bike tour on the Saarschleife is fantastic. Mountain bikers are also spoiled for choice in Saarburg and the surrounding area. The highlight, however, is the mountain bike course Trassem . 3 mountain bike trails are located around the forest adventure center in Trassem.

Image by Markus Winkler

summer toboggan run

Image by Chris Pagan

shipping

Kalfertshaus.jpg

Ride

For horse lovers, we recommend a visit to the idyllically situated, family-run Kalfertshaus horse farm, 15 km away. Thanks to many years of experience in the horse sector, the family Müller is very well positioned, practiced in dealing with children and the horses are used to the children.

Auf der Veranstaltungswebsite der Saar-Obermosel-Touristik erhalten Sie aktuelle Informationen zu den anstehenden Veranstaltungen in Saarburg und Umgebung:

The culture foundry, with the museum bell foundry Mabilon , the only bell foundry museum in Germany !!! Various cultural events take place here and a wide program for guests, families, children and groups.

Experience the sights of Saarburg in a different way with the 30-minute ride on the Saartalbahn . You should definitely plan a visit to the AMÜSEUM am Wasserfall , our municipal museum. Traditional Saarburg trades (bell founders, printers, cobblers, tanners, boatmen, pharmacists), the oldest turbine still in operation and interesting temporary exhibitions are presented to you in the former electoral mill.

In the district of Beurig is the well-known parish and pilgrimage church of St. Marien , with the miraculous image of the breastfeeding Madonna.

Or enjoy the leisurely 700m long ride on the chairlift to Warsberg in one of the 50 double chairs and the view of the beautiful Saar valley from lofty heights. The chairlift is also ideal for transporting your bicycles.

So it is only about a 30-minute walk to the Birds of Greifvogelpark. Would you like to experience the beauty and fascination of eagles, falcons, buzzards and owls during their daily free flights against a dreamlike backdrop?

In Mettlach, everything revolves around ceramics and shopping. Be it in the Villeroy & Boch exhibitions or in the numerous factory outlets . A visit to Montclair Castle is also worthwhile.

Within a radius of 20 km:

- Geocaching in Saarburg

Beyond the country border:

  • Grand Duchy of Luxembourg: charming residential city of Luxembourg with the underground fortifications,

  • castle with guards,

  • cathedral with carillon,

  • Casino Mondorf,

  • Romantic Müllertal between the city of Luxembourg and Echternach,

  • Butterfly Park Grevenmacher.

Auf unserer Facebook Seite finden Sie außerdem immer die aktuellen Veranstaltungen in und um Saarburg:

bottom of page

Saarburg Wasserfall.copyright.JPG
SAARBURG

In wenigen Minuten ist die  idyllische Kleinstadt Saarburg zu erreichen. Saarburg wurde im Jahre 964 von Graf-Siegfried von Luxemburg mit dem Erwerb des Bergs Churbelun und dem Bau der Burg hoch über der Saar gegründet. Saarburg ist von Wäldern und Weinbergen umgeben und wird vom der Leuk durchflossen. Eine besondere Attraktion ist der ca. 20m hohe Wasserfall inmitten der Stadt, der zwischen Fachwerkhäusern und Barockbauten zu Tal stürzt und die Mühlräder der ehemaligen Hackenberger Mühle antreibt. Saarburgs historischer Stadtkern und die pittoreske Unterstadt laden zu Entdeckungstouren durch die steilen und verwinkelten Gassen ein.

Copyright: Saar-Obermosel_Touristik e.V. Richard Seer

In und um Saarburg

Bei uns können Sie mehr als nur entspannen! Unser Campingplatz hat sehr viele tolle Aktivitäten in der Nähe, die alle einen Besuch wert sind.

Man Wandern in der Natur

Wandern

Rund um den Campingplatz und in der Nähe begingen zahlreiche wunderschöne Naturbelassene Wanderwege .Genießen Sie die geruhsame Fahrt mit der Sesselbahn hinauf zum Warsberg und spazieren Sie durch die Weinberge hinunter in die Stadt. Auf 5 Tafeln erhalten Sie interessante Informationen über die Geologie, den Weinbau, die Sehenswürdigkeiten und das Klima der Stadt Saarburg. 

trier.jpg

Trier

Saarburg fahrradweg. copyr.jpg

Radtouren

Für alle, die im Urlaub gerne aktiv unterwegs sind, bietet Saarburg zahlreiche Möglichkeiten. Rad, oder MTB-Touren eignen sich hervorragend, um die Landschaft rund um Saarburg zu erleben. Eine Fahrradtour an der Saarschleife ist traumhaft. Auch die Mountainbiker haben in Saarburg und Umgebung die Qual der Wahl. Das Highlight ist jedoch die Mountainbike-Parcours Trassem. 3 Mountainbike-Strecken befinden sich rund um das Walderlebniszentrum in Trassem.

Image by Markus Winkler

Sommerrodelbahn

Image by Chris Pagan

Schifffahrt

Kalfertshaus.jpg

Reiten

Für Pferdefreunde empfiehlt sich ein Besuch auf dem 15 km entfernten, in idyllischer Lage, familiengeführter Reiterhof Kalfertshaus. Durch langjährige Erfahrung im Pferdebereich ist die Familie Müller sehr gut aufgestellt, im Umgang mit Kindern geübt und die Pferde sind an die Kinder gewöhnt.

Die Kulturgieserei, mit dem Museum Glockengießerei Mabilon, dem einzigen Glockengießereimusem Deutschlands !!! Hier finden vielfältige Kulturveranstaltungen statt und ein breites Programm für Gäste, Familien, Kinder und Gruppen.

Erleben Sie die Sehenswürdigkeiten Saarburgs mal anders, mit der 30 minütigen Fahrt mit der Saartalbahn. Einen Besuch im AMÜSEUM am Wasserfall, unserem städtischen Museum, sollten Sie auf jeden Fall einplanen. Traditionelle Saarburger Handwerkerberufe (Glockengießer, Drucker, Schuster, Gerber, Schiffer, Apotheker), die älteste noch in Betrieb befindliche Turbine und interessante Wechselaustellungen werden Ihnen in der ehemaligen kurfürstlichen Mühle präsentiert.

Im Stadteil Beurig steht die weithin bekannte Pfarr- und Wallfahrtskirche St. Marien, mit dem Gnadenbild der stillenden Madonna.

Oder genießen Sie die geruhsame 700m lange Fahrt mit der Sesselbahn zum Warsberg in einem der 50 Doppelsessel und den Blick aus luftigen Höhen auf das wunderschöne Saartal. Auch für den Transport Ihrer Fahrräder ist die Sesselbahn bestens geeignet.

So sind es nur ca. 30 Fußminuten zum Greifvogelpark. Wollen Sie einmal die Schönheit und Faszination von Adler, Falken, Bussarden und Eulen während ihren täglichen Freiflügen vor traumhafter Kulisse erleben?

In Mettlach dreht sich alles um das Thema Keramik und Shopping. Sei es in den Ausstellungen von Villeroy & Boch, oder in den zahlreichen Factory Outlet. Des weiteren lohnt ein Besuch der Burg Montclair.

Im Umkreis von 20km:

- Geocaching in Saarburg

Über die Grenzen hinaus:

  • Großherzogtum Luxemburg: reizvolle Residenzstadt Luxemburg mit den unterirdischen Festungswerken,

  • Schloss mit Wachen,

  • Kathedrale mit Glockenspiel,

  • Casino Mondorf,

  • Romantisches Müllertal zwischen Stadt Luxemburg und Echternach,

  • Schmetterlingspark Grevenmacher.